Articles

“You May Go to Hell”, but I’m Going to Texas, Bitches!

In Sina's Posts, Trips on May 8, 2012 by SN

You already know from several smaller posts that I packed my backpack and went to Texas immediately after school was out last week. The Lone Star State is one of the most important and certainly most polarizing of the United States. Hence, when I told colleagues and students of my trip, I got very mixed responses:

  • “Why do you want to go? There is nothing there!”
  • “Houston is just one hot city.”
  • “Go to Austin. It is a great liberal city.”
  • “Good that you are flying to El Paso and back. The drive is really, really long.”
  • “Texas IS VERY DIFFERENT than Georgia.”

Imaginations of Texas: Swashbucklers, Girls, and Guns.

Precautions aside, I too have to think of oil, cattle, cowboy attire and attitude, Republican Presidents with the former, and John Wayne westerns. But I also associate Texas with futuristic space flight, delicious Tex-Mex food, and the classic horror flick The Texas Chainsaw Massacre.

I feel I have to visit the big TX as it is so central in (North) American cultural history and such a big space in the American imagination. Does Texas hold up to its famous image? Which aspects of Texan culture will I discover that I had not been aware of? And: Will I return to Georgia with my own pair of cowboy boots and hat? Over the next two weeks I will be visiting Houston, San Antonio, Austin, Dallas, and El Paso. Stay tuned, as I am blogging (more or less) live from the various places and my close encounters of the T kind. Ye haa!

Leave a Reply

