Articles

How to Transform Your Apartment Into a Hotel Room.

In Sina's Posts, Warm Up on August 11, 2011 by SN

While working as a Professor of German at Oglethorpe University, Atlanta, I will sublet my Dortmund apartment to an incoming guest scholar from the University of Iowa.

Fortunately, I live a Thoreau-inspired lifestyle. I live plain and pure according to the anti-materialist credo “Simplify! Simplify! Simplify!” The most precious items are of immaterial nature to me, such as enjoying insightful conversations with smart people or having a good laugh with friends.

This ascetic lifestyle comes in handy especially when being a travelholic. In the past few days, I have been packing up the stuff I accumulated during my three and a half years in Dortmund. I have become an expert in reducing, re-purposing, and re-packaging. Here is my top-three list of transforming an apartment into a hotel room:

  • put your stuff into cardboard or plastic boxes
  • use any storage space possible, such as underneath your bed or on top of shelves
  • and most importantly: reduce your stuff to half of the amount you have by throwing things out or giving them to friends

Especially throwing things out has a cathartic and spiritual effect for me, because I get rid of the emotional attachment to material objects. At the same time, I  wrap up the Dortmund chapter of my life by re-locating, re-arranging, and re-ducing [sic] (emotional) baggage.

Now I am ready for the next adventure of my life.

Atlanta, here I come!

One Response to “How to Transform Your Apartment Into a Hotel Room.”

  1. […] is a “Do I really need this?” type of person. Me, I am more the “Might I some day need this?” type. And a vinyl […]

Leave a Reply

